Hello world!

I’m just starting out in the wonderful new world of Educational Development in higher education – that is, in helping those who teach at university to develop their teaching skills and the way they think about teaching and learning. I’m based at a UK university but always welcome international perspectives – unlike some in the UK (namely the government) I believe that British higher education has a lot to learn from our international counterparts, as well as from our international students.

I have a PhD in English Literature but I’ve always been more interested in teaching than research, so when this job came up I decided to explore the side of myself that loves to think about teaching and learning in higher education.

Among other things, I’m particularly interested in:

  • Helping early career teachers and PhD students
  • Information Literacy
  • Accessibility in teaching
  • Widening participation
  • Student transitions
  • International/intercultural diversity in university teaching and university life.

I hope to post regularly here over the next few months on those topics and any others that interest me – I’m learning so much in this exciting field!  “”A luz é especialmente apreciada após a escuridão”. O amanhecer” by Aglaé Pires – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:%22A_luz_%C3%A9_especialmente_apreciada_ap%C3%B3s_a_escurid%C3%A3o%22._O_amanhecer.jpg#/media/File:%22A_luz_%C3%A9_especialmente_apreciada_ap%C3%B3s_a_escurid%C3%A3o%22._O_amanhecer.jpg

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Good luck getting started and hope you make great strides in improving the quality of instruction at your institution. Thought I would share with you an interesting posting, on UDL and the Flipped Classroom that I came across today. We have been trying to promote UDL at our institution, a two year community college in Illinois, by providing info session, projects, and faculty fellowships. Again good luck in reaching your faculty and instilling progressive change!

    Like

Leave a comment